Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Announcing the winners of the 2024 Alejandro Castro Memorial Fund Award

Portrait of Alejandro Castro in his Army uniform.

On April 10, the UIC University Library hosted the second Alejandro Castro Memorial Fund Award ceremony to celebrate the 2024 winners. They are:

Madeline Pasek
Major: Industrial Design, College of Architecture, Design and the Arts

Diana Rodriguez
Major: Rehabilitation Sciences, College of Applied Health Sciences

Mallory Quah
Major: Nutrition Science, College of Applied Health Sciences

Mags Goodship
Major: Public Health, School of Public Health

The $2,500 award supports UIC undergraduate students with apparent or non-apparent disabilities and honors the memory of Alejandro Castro, a respected, long-time employee of the UIC Library. Alejandro was an engaged staff member who worked to break down barriers to inclusion and increase accessibility on campus, serving on many Library task forces and on the Chancellor's Committee on the Status of Persons with Disabilities. The award can be used for school or living expenses is intended to foster student success and degree completion.

Congratulations to all the 2024 winners!

If you would like to make a gift to support future recipients of the Alejandro Castro Memorial Fund Award, please visit the FlamesFunded website.

For more information, please contact Linda Naru:

Chat with a LibrarianClose